Netflix & Chill: Round Two

I’ve been on cloud nine since Cody left my house on New Years Eve. All throughout last week we were texting back and forth – and I was waiting ever so patiently for him to ask me out again.

Friday evening arrived and I asked what he was doing over the weekend. Cody told me he was free Saturday evening and suggested I “come over and hang out”. I was a little disappointed as I was hoping he’d ask me out on a date… but decided to accept his invitation anyway.

I walked inside his home to the smell of wonderful spices and aromas. We headed towards the kitchen, and to my surprise, I was warmly greeted by his mother! While Cody was finishing off preparing a late lunch for himself, we chatted over our love for The Bachelor and how she somehow or another, years ago, spoke to my mom professionally! Talk about six degrees of separation…

Afterwards, Cody gave me a tour of the rest of his place. The tour ended in the basement – where there were two big couches and a TV. He put on Netflix and as soon as the movie started, we picked up where we left off from New Years Eve. ;) He was very sweet – feeding me pieces of chocolate and apple chips. As tempting as it was to run with my feelings and live completely in the moment, I still decided to hold back on being extremely intimate with him. Mainly because his parents were just one floor above us, but also because I’m still unsure as to how he perceives our relationship.

I could tell he was disappointed, but still respected to go as far as I wanted to.

By 7:30 – both our stomachs were growling. It turned out that his mom was making a delicious Spaghetti Bolognese and offered to dish some up for us. We happily accepted the offer, and went upstairs to help her prepare the meal. She lit some candles on the table and gave us some privacy while we finished preparing dinner — which was very adorable.

We said goodbye to one another at 2AM after having been together for a solid 9 hours!

When I got home, my parents said, “sooooo?” and all I could respond with was… “I’m not sure”.

Overall, we had a really enjoyable evening together. However, when I reflect on where we are both at in our lives, I feel as though we are on two different levels right now. He’s slowly building up his personal training business and very focused on it, with no secure career plan. In contrast, I have a well established full-time career, and am at a point where I’m ready to find someone to develop a relationship with.. and to potentially have a future with.

I tend to over analyze too much. Perhaps it would be best to just go with the flow and enjoy spending time with him – with the understanding that he may not want to be in an exclusive relationship right now. Let me know if you agree!

6 thoughts on “Netflix & Chill: Round Two

  1. Devils advocate – While he sounds like a nice guy – he’s living at home with a barely off the ground personal training business? Eek.. Sorry. In my vocabulary that translates into something else – broke and living with mommy. How old is he? Is he in school at least? If your gut is starting to yelp, that is why.

    • All good points to take into consideration! Thanks. He’s also in his mid 20s and finished with school. I’ll just to have to listen to my gut as to whether or not it’s the best idea to continue seeing him.

Leave a Reply

