It’s Official

Well – here’s the post you’ve all secretly been waiting for. Ryan and I are officially in a relationship now! It hasn’t been blurted out to the world (i.e. over Facebook)… but we’ve made it very clear to one another that we aren’t interested in seeing anyone else. Who thought this day would come?

Even though we’ve only been dating for a month a half – I’ve already developed pretty strong feelings towards him (and I’m almost 100% positive he feels the same way about me).

Last Wednesday he picked me up from the subway after work. We grabbed a slice of pizza for dinner and then went over to his place. We walked inside and I immediately got introduced to his mother. She seemed very sweet and friendly. It was a brief ‘hello, nice to meet you’ – as she was on her way out to grab dinner with friends. When she left we went to his room to ‘watch a movie’ ;). I kept asking him what time she was going to come home – as the last thing I wanted was for her to walk in on us and think I was a complete slut. Sure enough my worst fear came true, as we heard the front door open much sooner than he expected. I scrambled to throw my clothes back on. My face was all red and blotchy from kissing, and my hair completely disheveled. Oh no…

Thankfully, we got back to a presentable state fairly quickly. His plan was for us to head to the kitchen to grab a glass of water. We saw her sitting on the couch and she smiled at the two of us as we walked in. I smiled back, but felt very awkward. Although why should I? I’m his girlfriend after all… After grabbing water, I walked out to talk to her a bit more. We didn’t talk for too long – as Ryan was motioning for me to come back to his room. Anyway, I believe I made a decent first impression, as when I left she said it was really nice meeting me, and hoped to see me again soon.

Fast forward to yesterday evening. My parents had been anxious to meet Ryan for quite some time, so I figured that now was a good time since I had recently met his mother. He came over around 5 (my parents were heading to a show at 6 – so they would only have at the very most an hour to grill him with questions). I was a bundle of nerves waiting for him to arrive. Mostly nervous that my parents would completely embarrass me. They did promise to be on their best behaviour.

It really went so much better than expected. Ryan hit it off with my dad. They were talking to one another about products they were developing, and bonded over music and travel stories. My mom pulled me aside and told me she thought he was stunning, smart, and I certainly picked a good one. Aw, shucks!

When they left, he told me he thought my family was great. I grinned from ear to ear, happy that they bonded so well. I’m still waiting for someone to pinch me, to wake up from this dream…

So where does this leave my blog? To be fair to Ryan, and knowing he might one day read this, I feel it’s best for me not to dive into anything more personal between the two of us as our relationship grows. I’ll just leave that up to your imagination. ;) So because of this, I will be taking a break from writing – but I will definitely let you know when suburban girl is totally in love.

For now I just want to send out a big thank you to everyone who has been following along my journey to find love – especially to those who’ve been supporting me since the beginning. To know I’ve inspired some of you, is more than I could have asked for.

Also – I have faith that my favourite Unfortunate Virgin Male (who all my readers should follow) – will also end up with a success story!

The next time I write, you will know that I’m either in love, engaged, or getting married. Or that I’m desperately heart broken.

14 thoughts on “It’s Official

Leave a Reply

