My Valentines

Ryan asked to take me out last night for Valentine’s Day. I was pretty excited about it – as I’ve never been asked out on Valentine’s Day before.

He picked me up around 7:30pm (our usual Saturday night time). Conversation flowed so naturally. I was excited to tell him about my week – and hear about what he’d been up to. We sung along to car tunes like ‘Hotel California’ and ‘Take Me To Church’ while holding each others hand the majority of the car ride.

He parked on the street of the restaurant and once the meter was filled – we started walking over. Little did either us realize that it was -36 degrees outside. I was silly and didn’t wear gloves or a hat. Ryan offered me to wear his, but I felt bad taking them. I latched onto him for warmth but I was still feeling numb in my fingers and face. We looked at the building number to our left.. which was 800 and the restaurant was 200. Both of us made the decision to go back to the car and drive to a closer parking spot.

Finally, we arrived at a great middle eastern restaurant. Our food portions arrived and were humongous – enough to feed an army. Schnitzel, skewers, fries, salad, pita. After cleaning up our plates – Ryan asked about the small bag to my left with the “fluffy” paper coming out from the top, which was his cute way of referencing the tissue paper. I had bought him a little something and was so excited for him to open it. I passed it along and told him to open the card first. He seemed genuinely shocked and happy that I got him anything. The card was perfect – it said ‘I only have eyes for you’ on the front – and inside I wrote a cute, sappy message about how I’m so happy to have gotten matched with him and look forward to spending more days of the week together. Cue the ‘aww’… Then he took out the little stuffed monkey I bought which he was slightly embarrassed to hold but thought it was very cute.

He looked up at me and expressed how this was the nicest gift he’s ever received from any girlfriend. Did he just mention girlfriend? So I’m his current girlfriend? He then took out a LINDOR Chocolate box to give me – although he felt very silly and embarrassed to have gotten me something so small in comparison. I told him to stop it — just being with him that evening was all I needed. Cute the second ‘aww’.

Afterwards we walked over to a Jazz Bar which was a block away (thankfully). It was packed but we managed to get two seats near the bar which gave us a perfect view of the band.

Photo 2015-02-14, 11 37 05 PM

The room was filled with couples left and right. It was such a cute and intimate crowd. Ryan wrapped his arm around me and I rested my head on his shoulder. We were enjoying the lovely instrumental sounds of the Jazz band.

I wasn’t sure what I was starting to feel – but gazing up at Ryan… I certainly was beginning to feel loved. Love is something I’ve never experienced before, and I’m not sure that feeling has really taken over yet. However, I certainly feel like I am with someone who genuinely cares about me and when I think about my master check list of what I want in a boyfriend – he pretty much crosses everything off. Love is a feeling that scares me – the idea of fully giving myself to someone and then being completely heart broken is always a risk. Taking that leap is something that is so scary for me, but the more I’m with him, the more I feel ready to risk it all.

We left around quarter to 12 and rushed over to his car – so we could blast the heater and get toasty again. It was en route home when we started to hear a police siren approaching behind us. Shit! Ryan realized it was directed at us, so we pulled over. Neither of us had any idea as to why, and he seemed a little shocked.

The police officer came up to his window and said that we had apparently made an illegal left turn. Neither of us had seen any prohibited turn signs – but apparently there was one. We searched through his mom’s car to find the insurance papers and passed them over. The officer returned (thankfully he was a friendly guy) and saw that Ryan had a clean record so he only received a ticket to pay. I felt horrible – it had turned out to be a very expensive evening for him. He handled the whole situation very well though – which I was happy to see. Always good to see how a guy handles those sorts of situations…

My rebel drove us the remainder of the way home and parked in my driveway. He asked to see me again Monday – since it’s Family Day (no work!) So that will most likely happen.

So I guess guys… I can admit I have a boyfriend. Suburban girl isn’t ready to say she’s found love just yet – and this blog isn’t going anywhere for a little while. However, it is extremely exciting to report after so many dates that have gone nowhere – I have finally met a pretty incredible guy.

I took the bold step to delete all my online dating profiles / apps yesterday. It felt very bizarre, knowing it won’t be part of my normal daily routine to check them. However, I believe it’s healthy moving forward in this relationship. I need to give it a chance. Wouldn’t you agree?

Hope everyone had a lovely day yesterday – whether with your loved one, friends or family.

7 thoughts on “My Valentines

Leave a Reply

