Mazel Tov – It’s a Match!

Even though I promised myself as a New Years Resolution to pull back from online dating  – I was enticed to download a new dating app similar to Tinder, but for Jewish Singles. Religion has never been a big factor for me with guys I’ve dated in the past – but I personally feel there are sometimes more things to share in common / talk about with someone from the same religious background.

About a month ago I got matched with Ryan – a cute Jewish single who lived in the same neighborhood as myself. I learned he studied engineering in California and had recently moved back to the city. His pictures were stunning – brown hair, blueish-green eyes AND dimples. I prayed he wasn’t catfishing me. Ryan asked if I wanted to meet up for coffee – so I picked a local spot and we met just over a week ago.

I had a huge sigh of relief when I first spotted him – he was just as cute as in his pictures. Also – quite tall (which is always a bonus, since I’m taller than average height for a girl). We met around 8PM and he ordered us both a drink. Conversation went very smoothly – I could tell he was a very go-with-the-flow, laid back guy and we seemed to be on the same page about a lot of things. I liked that we shared similar family values (both coming from large families), and he was also a big traveler – like myself. The coffee shop was closing at 11PM so we got kicked out – although both of us would have easily stayed for at least another hour. Which is surprising for me… since I usually hate coffee dates (find it very uncomfortable sitting face to face talking – without doing anything). With him I could be myself – which is so important to feel.

Ryan walked me to my car, and we hugged each other goodnight. The next day he texted me saying he had a fun night, and would love to do it again sometime! I grinned from ear to ear – but didn’t get too excited, as my last Tinder date ended the same way – only for the guy to never follow up for the second date…

Thankfully Ryan was different and planned for us to go see a movie and grab dessert last night. He picked me up for 7:30PM, and drove us to a nearby theatre. He was a great driver – which put me at ease. We went to see a psycho thriller movie called ‘The Boy Next Door’ starring Jennifer Lopez… which to tell you the truth, is not really worth paying the money for. However, there were still moments that made me jump, so I squeezed his arm a few times… which were pretty built ;). We inched closer and closer together, and I dangled my left arm on my leg – hoping he’d reach out for it. Sure enough after about the third arm squeeze he interlocked his fingers with mine and I held onto his arm for the last 1/4 of the movie. Mission accomplished.

After the movie we went to a nearby restaurant. He ordered a beer and I got us the most incredible dessert to share – cheesecake wrapped in a soft tortilla shell drizzled with caramel (which was heavenly). Our table also had kraft paper / crayons for us to draw and release our inner child play. We played some games of hang man, puzzles, and he even challenged me to a game of thumb wars – which took me back to Grade 7. Then we got into a game of 2 truths and a lie, which is a perfect way to learn interesting and personal bits of information about your date.

Ryan had been a gentleman all evening. He purchased our movie tickets, and let me pick whatever I wanted off the menu at the restaurant. He complimented me on my brown eyes, and even told me he thought my braces were cute. I mean – they are hardly cute in my opinion, but I still thought it was sweet of him to say that. Nice to know that chivalry isn’t dead!

The restaurant was closing at 12 and so we left at quarter to. It was absolutely freezing outside, so I latched onto him for warmth as we walked over to his car. We made it back to my house around midnight and he parked outside. This is the moment that usually gets my stomach turning upside down – over thinking whether to go in for the kiss or not. Thankfully he made things easy for me by leaning over, softly placing his hands over my cheeks and embracing me in a passionate kiss. Oh boy – was he a good kisser… It only lasted for about 5 minutes – but I felt like that was the perfect length of time for a second date.

When we leaned away from each other – he said to me “until next time”. Let’s hope that means a third date will be on the horizon! 2015 is definitely off to a good start.

9 thoughts on “Mazel Tov – It’s a Match!

  1. This is great! I’ve been so absent to blogging but I’m glad to hear that things are going well with you and Ryan! I’m very inspired by your journey!

Leave a Reply

