Advertising Boy

I started a new job at an advertising agency about a month ago. It’s been such a great experience so far. The culture and environment is great and the people make going into work everyday fun and exciting.

Shortly after I started, a new guy started working at the company and I immediately crushed on him. Even though romances at work are frowned upon, that didn’t mean I couldn’t admire him from afar or try and learn more about him. Let’s call him advertising boy…

Advertising boy and I exchanged eye contact here and there and sat in the kitchen around the same lunch time on certain days over the past four weeks, but I never got an opportunity to speak with him face to face. We even sat in on some of the same presentations, but always ended up on opposite sides of the table or room. I seemed cursed.

Today, I logged onto my OKC profile after dinner and started searching through the list of new users in my area. No luck.

Just as I was about to log off.. a new message appears in my inbox.

hey hows your week going?

I clicked on this user’s profile and I immediately screamed out of excitement. The pictures and profile description matched exactly that of advertising boy! I mean.. what are the fucking chances (excuse my language, but I can hardly contain myself!) I had no clue how to decipher that message he sent me. Did he know who I was? Do I really look so different in the office than I do on my profile pictures? I mean, how could he not put two and two together. I wrote in my profile I also worked at an advertising agency and what my profession was.

My hands were shaking I was so nervous. I figured after a long 10 minutes of deliberation that I should just come out and tell the truth.

I write back:

Hey! Umm.. this is really embarrassing but do you realize that we may actually work together? ;P

Advertising boy:

really? oh fml. hahahah
Me:
Hahah well what a way to get to know each other. :P How are you enjoying your first few weeks?
Then he responded telling me about how he was really loving the company so far and asked me how I was liking it / when I started working there. I just responded and now waiting for a reply back.
Gosh, this will make for a very interesting day at work tomorrow…
I mean… how would you handle this if it happened to you?
2 thoughts on “Advertising Boy

  1. This made me chuckle. I’ve too stumbled across a colleague on OKC before. He’d viewed my profile, so I clicked to view his and… yup… the guy I sit directly across from at work. Oy. Neither of us ever mentioned it- perhaps we were equally embarrassed!

    This was around a month ago now I see; did anything ever come of the messages with Advertising Boy?

Leave a Reply

