Post Valentines

I still had a great Valentines Day despite being single. My whole day was filled with lots of love from my family and friends. Sure – it stung a little bit on the subway ride home from work to see guys holding a single rose stem for their girlfriend; and hearing the musician in the station playing the traditional song you walk down the aisle to. However, I came home to a beautiful Italian themed dinner my dad cooked for my family. Followed by chocolate fondue with strawberries and bananas!

I woke up this morning feeling a bit down. I had hoped to see the guy from LinkedIn – Zach at some point this weekend but it’s been a bit of a roller coaster ride with him since my last blog post…

About a week after we met for coffee, I sent him another version of his character. He sent back changes – so then a few days following, I sent him an updated version. Then came more changes. By this point I had spent over 15 hours designing the character for him – and I had only charged about 1/4 of the time spent.

Zach was such a charmer and I totally fell under his spell. Whenever I agreed to make another small change – he would send me heart signs back. Those hearts gave me hope he was still interested in seeing me again.

By the end of January, I was close to finishing his character and he sent me his final list of small edits.

Me: You owe me a week away after this.

Zach: Haha I know. (heart sign)

Me: You better hold up to your end of the deal.

Zach: I’m a man of my word. ;)

February 9, I sent Zach the final versions to post to his page. I was so excited that the character was done, and we could finally make plans to meet again to go for celebratory drinks. Unfortunately for me, ever since I’ve sent him the final designs – the hearts have stopped and his messages have been less frequent.

He ended up paying me more than what he was supposed to which was nice of him. However, still no mention on his part of going out again. That brings us to February 12.

Me: So when are we going to celebrate?

Zach: I dunno well have to see. :0

Me: Okay.

… Disappointment washed over my face and my heart sunk. ‘We’ll have to see..’ What the hell does that mean? Is that code word for, sorry but I’m not interested anymore? Is he just too obsessed with his gaming that he can’t commit to a time to see me? Maybe he started seeing someone else?

I don’t even know what to think. I feel pretty used and taken advantage of. He totally led me on. I wish I had a happier ending here, although it’s not to say this is for sure the ending. What do you think. Time to move on?

9 thoughts on “Post Valentines

  1. Ask yourself the simple question of how you’d like your partner to demonstrate his affection. I’m guessing your answer is direct and clear, not opaque and vague. Time is precious. Don’t waste it on people who MIGHT have time for you or COULD be interested. A gentleman will let you know the answer unambiguously.

    Some men simply like to flirt, just as some women do. Often, they aren’t trying to be malicious and they don’t always have cruel intentions at heart. And to be sure, “LinkedIn Guy” might actually be interested. Maybe he was busy while you were texting and hasn’t had a chance to respond since. But that doesn’t mean you should wait around hoping. Move on. If he’s worth being with he’ll reach out soon and with grace. In my experience you want things to be easy at the beginning of a relationship because – regardless of your bond – things will certainly be difficult at times in the middle.

  2. I would move on as well. By contacting him again you might appear desperate for a connection, so I would let it go. Find something that you enjoy doing as a pastime. You may meet someone of quality who enjoys the same things, when you least expect it.

Leave a Reply

