The Naughty Aussie

5 days ago I got matched with Drew on Tinder. His bio line said he was an ‘Australian abroad’ so I naturally started the conversation by asking what brought him to Toronto. Drew told me he was visiting friends that he met when they did an exchange in Australia.

Unfortunately by the time we started talking, Drew was already on the last leg of his 2 month trip, and was planning on going back to Australia on January 2nd. He told me he was spending the rest of his time in Ottawa and wouldn’t be back in Toronto. Still, we continued talking, and decided to Snapchat a bit back and forth. He had the most dreamy blue eyes, dark hair, and his smile was perfect (which was only fitting as he is studying to be a dentist).

Let’s fast forward to two days later…

Drew: “I may be able to make it to Toronto for one more night before I fly home if you are interested. It would be New Year’s Day.”

I was surprised he said that and really wasn’t sure how to respond. I just told him to let me know of his plans once he was certain. The next day…

Drew: “I’m going to be in Toronto on the afternoon and night of the 1st of January. If you are around, we could hang out?”

Me: “Whereabouts in Toronto will you stay?”

Drew: “I’ll probably just get a hotel room for the night as I arrive in Toronto around 5:30pm and the next day I need to be at the airport for 9am.”

I knew there was probably no point to meet as he lived half way around the world. The other part of me thought.. it truly could be an amazing love story. When I talked to one of my best friend’s about him, she said:

“It sounds crazy he is leaving but I don’t believe in cookie cutter love stories. You’ll never know what this could end up being! At the very least maybe you’ll make a good friend. Just be clear about boundaries.”

One of my new year’s resolutions is to be more spontaneous, so I thought… what the hell. I made it clear I was not looking to rush into anything, but would be open to grabbing dinner and getting to know one another more.

So yesterday evening we met at a restaurant nearby the hotel he stayed at. Drew met me by the front entrance, and said “hello, nice to meet you” in a thick Australian accent which was very cute. Once we sat down at the table and placed our orders, conversation went very smoothly. He told me about his travels thus far, what Australia was like, and his family back home. We sat there enjoying our dinner and had a few glasses of Sangria. Once we polished off our meals, there was about 1/4 of the Sangria mix left so he poured some into my glass, and then I took it from him and poured the last of it in his glass.

Drew: “Trying to get me drunk so you can take advantage of me later?”

I playfully smirked. After finishing off the last sip of my glass, I started feeling slightly buzzed. As we started running out of conversation topics, he asked if I wanted to walk over to his hotel to grab another drink there. It was already 10pm and I had to get up at 6am the next morning to go back to work. As I knew I’d be drinking – I was waiting for a ride so was open to spending some more time together.

I agreed to walk back to his hotel – only because all the other local pubs were closed as it was New Years Day. It was freezing – I’d say -25 degrees celcius. Drew offered me his gloves which was very sweet, but I felt bad to take them so he put his arm around me for the walk over. We went directly to the bar near the front lobby and ordered two more drinks. I looked at my watch and realized I was getting picked up in half an hour. We continued bantering back and forth about our lives. However, I could tell he was growing tired of the conversation.. and to be honest so was I. Drew started playing with my bracelet saying how it was pretty.. which led into him saying that I was pretty. I truly did want to kiss him then and there. However, we were surrounded by quite a number of people and I didn’t have enough alcohol in me to kiss in front of all of them.

Drew then started talking about his hotel room upstairs – saying how it was so massive for one person and that he had a king sized bed. I had 5 minutes before getting picked up and so I quickly changed the subject.

Me: “So did you have a nice time tonight?”

Drew: “Yeah. You’re a cool girl. Totally beats spending the night in my hotel room alone. The night’s still young though!”

Shit…

At that point I told him I unfortunately had to leave in the next few minutes as I had to get up very early for work the next day. He seemed pretty disappointed but understood. I proceeded to pay the bill for our drinks as he paid for dinner. At that point he walked with me towards the main lobby. I told him I’d still love to stay in touch and perhaps we would cross paths again if he came back to Toronto or I came to Australia. He said that would be nice. We hugged and parted ways.

As I write this, he is probably half way home – every minute further and further away. I wasn’t going to be intimate with a guy who I may never see again – and I especially didn’t want to be with a guy long term who wanted to hook up on a first date. I felt from all I got to know about him over dinner that we shared more differences than similarities and I couldn’t quite see it playing out into a long-distance relationship – even if we had been more intimate.

He knew I wasn’t looking to hook up. Yes, he may have been hopeful that I would change my mind. You could say I led him on to a certain extent by going back to his hotel after dinner… However, I have no regrets about how the night played out.

Happy new year everyone. Look forward to sharing some more great adventures with you in 2014. Hopefully, this will be a great year!

One thought on “The Naughty Aussie

  1. Sounds like being spontaneous was worth it even if he was leaving! I met my boyfriend about 5 months ago only to find out that he was going to be leaving the US in a few months. I didn’t go into it to fall in love but ended up and now I’ll be re-locating to Buenos Aires when my lease is up! Sometimes even long distance is worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

