Tale of the Princess Maffle

Last Wednesday I received a text message from my younger cousin who is one of my loyal blog followers. She wrote saying:

“I want to set you up with this guy I work with!”

Of course I was curious so I asked her more about who he was. Eli worked at the same theatre as her. She told me he was turning 25, had two degrees, was very down to earth / funny, and most importantly: single.

Naturally this got me pretty intrigued. I asked if she felt he was my type. She replied:

“I could totally see you guys together.”

I told her to pass along my Facebook name so he could add me. About an hour and a half later, I received a new friend request alert from him. I logged onto his page from my phone and started flipping through his pictures. He was cute! Tall, lanky and had a very young-boy(ish) look, which is the type I generally go for.

Over the next 24 hours, we exchanged about 8 lengthy messages through Facebook chat. From there we exchanged cell numbers. This past Saturday we decided to talk on the phone and the conversation lasted about an hour and a half long! I was pleasantly surprised.

We arranged to meet a few days later at a coffee/dessert spot that neither of us had been to before (which Eli had heard great things about). It was called ‘Cafe Princess’. The name sold me instantly.

I arrived a few minutes after 8pm, and saw Eli already sitting at one of the ornate tables in the corner by a large window. He got up, smiled, and came over to me. We hugged hello. We walked back over to the table and I immediately expressed how cute and comfy the place was. There were large and luxurious couches, star decorations above each of the tables, and the menus had a very cute, whimsical feel. As Eli and I were reading through the menu, some of the hand-written items were so illegible that we couldn’t help but laugh and make fun of them. We decided to share the ‘Princess Waffle’. Although, the W in their hand writing appeared upside down so we kept referring to it as the ‘Princess Maffle’. We then proceeded to stare out the window and joke sarcastically about how beautiful the scenery was (pointing out the gas station and roads).

About 15 minutes later, our ‘Princess Maffle’ arrived at our table and we were presented with a white waffle… YES, white – which came with two scoops of ice cream, strawberries and kiwi. Confused, I looked back at the menu and completely didn’t process that in brackets next to this menu item it read ‘made out out of rice cakes’. Uh oh…

Eli could tell by my reaction that something was up. He asked if I was okay with it. I said… “of course. There’s a first for everything, right?” I took the first bite and I’m pretty sure the expression on my face was priceless. It was the chewiest waffle I had ever tasted. It tasted nothing like a waffle… maybe it truly was a maffle! It was bland, and I could feel it slowly getting stuck in my braces. At least it was white so the pieces wouldn’t show, but I knew I couldn’t take another bite. He was very sweet about it and finished off the maffle. I helped myself to the ice cream and fruit.

Overall the date went well! Did I feel instant butterflies? No… but maybe that feeling will grow if I continue getting to know him.

The next day, Eli wrote to me saying he had a nice time and asked if I’d be interested to go out again soon. We’ve tentatively scheduled to go out next Monday. He seems like a really genuine guy that’s looking for a relationship, or should I say princess? Of course, I want my prince charming too. So why am I not over the moon excited to see him again? I guess I’m not used to the guy being so eager to pursue me… I’m used to the chase, and part of me secretly loves it. I know I need to grow up and get over it.

What’s your take on ‘the chase’? Would you encourage me to go on a second date with Eli?

6 thoughts on “Tale of the Princess Maffle

  1. It sounds like you enjoyed his company enough to go on a second date! But maybe tell your cousin he’s being too eager? I definitely know the feeling, but may as well give him a second chance before deciding to keep him in the friend zone.

  2. It’s great that he is pursuing you, and so far other than the waffle debacle, there isn’t anything to dissuade you otherwise – well except your hesitation. I would go again, everything about love says – you never know.

  3. I’d say definitely go on a second date. You’ll better ascertain whether or not you like the guy on a second date. As a friend of mine puts it – the first date is the first impression and the second date confirms the impression or that nagging gut feeling.

  4. Counting someone out because you didnt have the butterflies upon first meeting is not the road to go. Sometimes we are still guarded so we don’t allow ourselves to feel our emotions. The fact he was a gentleman allows him further investigating. Worse comes to worse you end up hanging out with a real nice guy. But always the possibility of a potential bf. luck!!

Leave a Reply

