50 Questions: Tinder Edition

This morning I woke up and while lying in bed, I decided to check Tinder for fun. There I was, still half asleep, checkmarking and x’ing the guys pictures when I came across this guy Max who looked familiar (not to mention, very cute). I decided to checkmark him and sure enough he had already checkmarked me back. We were a match! I wrote hello and he immediately wrote back… “Hey. I feel like I know you from somewhere.” After thinking of a few possible places with no luck, he finally remembered that he helped his friend put his OKcupid account together and that he remembered seeing my picture from there. I proceeded to ask who his friend was and the name didn’t ring a bell. This is how the Tinder conversation proceeded (I’m in blue):

2013-07-20-12.25.23

Max told me he worked in the business world. I asked what got him interested in the app and he said it was very simple and popular so he was just checking it out. He also went on to tell me he had a girlfriend, and was just looking to do some research about the app. Max literally had 50 questions to ask me and wanted to do it in this forum so he could refer back to them. I considered going along with it, even though I was a bit disappointed that he was already taken. He said he had several friends, such as the one from OKcupid who he could introduce me to. So he told me to add him on Facebook to see what his single friends looked like. Then the conversation moved over to private Facebook chat:

Screen-Shot-2013-07-20-at-12.36.48-PMThis made me even more perplexed, since he had previously told me there were “legit” 50 questions he had in mind and he even wanted to refer back to them. I started digging a little more asking if he was perhaps designing a similar app and was doing research for it. He denied this emphatically and started backing off a little. But not before he asked me how old I was. Again, not wanting to reveal too much about myself, I said – 20 something.

“Give me a number.” He demanded. Woah….. I’d had enough. “Sorry, that’s all you’re going to get.” I said. “Good luck with your research”.

What are your Tinder highlights?

11 thoughts on “50 Questions: Tinder Edition

  1. Most people’s “skills” on tinder just result in a series of awkward moments. I actually met someone off of tinder and it was quite strange. I felt like I was being interviewed the entire time instead of being apart of a conversation.

  2. I stopped using tinder a few weeks ago… too many douches for my liking lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

  3. Why would this guy need to go on tinder to find girls who use it? Doesn’t he know any woman who uses it, his girlfriend has got to have friends, right? Props, girl. You have more patience than I would have had! He could have researched the app without bothering you for questions. I knew a lot of guys go on for sex, but for money/business? That’s a whole new level. You guys should check out my new post about my tinder frustrations if you like this post!

  4. I’m a geek and do digital marketing for a living. I LOVE Tinder for a few reasons.
    1. It’s area-specific. I live in a big city and wouldn’t want to date someone from a ‘burb 35 miles away.
    2. It integrates a LITTLE bit of Facebook. When I see mutual friends, I will go find the guy’s profile on Facebook. I don’t have a lot of time to stalk, but I can at least get a better idea about a guy.
    3. I met my boyfriend on there. He lives 100 miles away, so it’s weird he showed up in a search.
    4. I like that people can only message if they both “like” each other. Cuts down on spam and douchebag creepy guys.

  5. I’d say he wasn’t telling you the truth about who he is and what he was doing on the site. The yellow flashing lights are going wild on this one for me, not to mention just a bit of creep factor.

Leave a Reply

