What can come of Kissing an Origami Frog?

I slept in this morning, fully intending to stay in my pajamas all day and work on my Thesis project. This was until 2pm, when my Facebook prince charming (see last post for reference) sent me a text message asking what I was up to today. I told him I had nothing much planned aside from lounging around at home. He wrote:

Boring.

I asked what exciting plans he had for the day. He was just hanging out and had no plans either. I asked if he wanted to meet up and he agreed! As we were trying to arrange plans, I had that giddy and nervous feeling in my stomach. I could barely eat my cream cheese bagel as I was trying hard to think of a place we could meet in between where he and I live (since I’m in the suburbs and he lives mid-town).

After some back and forth of trying to find a good spot, I decided it would just be better if I took the subway to meet him mid-town since there was more to do there and we could walk around / grab a drink. I then took the bold move of asking him to call my cell phone so we could confirm where to meet. After chowing down the rest of my bagel I quickly ran upstairs to pick out an outfit. I was shaking… God knows why. Probably a combination of nerves and my mother always turning the heat down. As I took a few options out of my closet, my phone rang and it was him! I took a deep breath and answered the phone.

He had a deep, sexy voice. Although we only talked briefly, I felt very relaxed and at ease. We agreed to meet right at the subway station. As soon as we got off the phone I zoned into primping and priming for the next half hour and then headed straight to the subway.

I arrived right on time and was pleased with navigating my way through the station, as I’m pretty directionally challenged. I stood nonchalantly against a wall in a waiting area above ground. Thankfully it was indoors so I didn’t have to bear the cold while waiting. I called him and he told me he was walking over and would be 5 more minutes. I absolutely hate waiting for the guy to arrive as it makes me feel ten times more nervous, but I gave him a cool response and said, “no worries”.

When he walked through the door I recognized him instantly. He appeared just as cute as in his Facebook pictures. Had thick, messy hair, black rimmed glasses and greyish-blue eyes. When he approached me to hug hello I recognized we were actually about the same height. I had thought he was taller, but it wasn’t an issue. He suggested we go to the Aroma Espresso Bar around the corner so away we went.

When we got to the cash register, they took his order first and when they asked if he wanted to get anything else, he didn’t look over at me. We ended up just paying separately. Typically, I’d take this as a red flag. However, he had previously opened up to me in regards to having to take care of himself since he was 13 and how money was tight for him so I was okay with paying for myself. He ordered an iced cappuccino and I got a hot chocolate. They each came with a little milk chocolate which he was so excited about. It was very cute; like a little giddy boy getting chocolate as a rare treat.

We sat down and conversation flowed so well. Usually I feel uncomfortable having coffee dates and having to sit face to face but there was not one awkward pause. We listened to each other and seemed genuinely interested in what each other had to say. He asked me lots of questions about what I did and seemed very impressed. He really opened up to me about having to become so independent at such a young age. We talked about religion and how that factored into his family dynamics. I was completely fascinated and had such admiration for all his hard work. He had to live on his own since a very young age and with that pay his own bills, do his own laundry, take classes and work a part-time job as many hours as he could get. Despite living on his own since a young age he still has a relationship with his family and has such an optimistic and adventurous outlook on life.

Not only was he incredibly good looking, but he also had a nerdy side to him which I found so attractive. He told me he knew all the N64 Mario Kart and Mario Party tricks which is a huge turn on for me since it was one of the few video games I grew up playing. He then made me a tiny origami frog out of a TTC bus transfer ticket and in return I made him a fortune teller made out of Kleenex. Of course, the giddy school girl in me filled it in and wrote little messages like:

Within the next week, you will make the girl across from you a home cooked Spaghetti meal.

He then went on to show me some magic tricks and I was just becoming more impressed with this guy. He then requested for more Aroma chocolates and was so serious about it that I couldn’t help but grin. They brought over about ten of them to our table. He gave me three. I sarcastically told him how generous he was. We couldn’t stop smiling. We then discussed how I’d help him design some self-promotional branding materials within the next week (of course, he’d need to be creative with what he’d give me in return, aside from the origami frog).

Two and a half hours later we walked around and explored Indigo. At the 3 hour mark it was already 6:30 pm and he said it was probably time to get home. I agreed, so we headed towards the subway together so he could see me off.

Update: he called 2 hours ago! I was surprised to see his name pop up but excitedly threw my laptop down and ran upstairs. He wanted to know what my email was so he could send over what he wanted designed. We also talked about what we had for dinner. He didn’t have any! I felt bad and wished I could go over there to make him some Kraft Dinner (my specialty).

Who know where this will go but I’m looking forward to seeing where it’s headed. What’s your prediction?

11 thoughts on “What can come of Kissing an Origami Frog?

  1. Sounds like a great start!

    Not sure I liked the bit about his allowing you to pay for yourself on a first meet-up despite what you have said…but I guess maybe I am old school!

    • Thanks for the comment! I do feel he could have offered to pay as it was only a dollar or two. However, it wasn’t a huge deal breaker for me as it was just a casual, get to know each other meetup.

  2. Excited…for you…as I know that feeling..but be careful..concerned that he is playing with your emotions by telling you his sad story and the part about not having dinner…don’t ignore the red flags!!

    • Thanks! I feel like there is a follow up to this story soon and unfortunately not a positive one… There could be a turn around but I feel that’s unlikely. You’re right, it’s always important to take red flags into consideration right away.

  3. I seriously couldn’t stop myself from grinning goofily while reading this. Maybe that’s just the hopeless romantic in me. But he sounds like a really great guy and it sounds like you guys really hit it off. I hope your second date, assuming you have one, goes as well as it seems your first went!! Good luck!

    • I’m glad there’s another hopeless romantic out there! I also couldn’t wipe the grin off my face as I was writing it. I’m hopeful there is a second date, but something tells me that may not happen. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

  4. Get it! So glad it’s going. As far as the paying thing, I might just have a different perspective being a guy and gay, but I actually prefer to pay for myself, I don’t like a date paying for our first meal especially if its something simple and just a relax meeting. Plus I get nervous when someone pays and I feel forced to finish my whole plate.

    • Thanks!! I completely agree about getting nervous when someone pays / feeling forced to eat the whole thing. I have a small appetite as it is and eat very slowly so sometimes I just prefer to pay for myself. However, I do think it’s a red flag if your date doesn’t at least offer to pay by the second date.

Leave a Reply

