French Fry Boy Update / Found my Facebook Prince Charming

Hi everyone. First off, I thought I’d write a follow up on french fry boy. Since my last blog post, there was absolutely no contact between us until this evening. Here is how our text message conversation went:

Hey! Wow long time, how’s life treating you?

Me: Pretty good… you?

Could always be better but I’m hanging in there. Finally recovered from being sick?

Me: Yeah.

Ouch. Real conversation murderer there.

I responded by telling him straight up how I was frustrated with him for being so distant since I got back from vacation. I told him it felt like he wasn’t interested anymore and I didn’t deserve for him to just be messaging me out of the blue every so often. He wrote back saying he never meant to create any drama or stress. If it made me feel better he hadn’t seen any of his friends in the past couple of weeks. He apologized and said if I’d prefer he didn’t message me anymore, to let him know. He didn’t want to complicate anything. I did want to give him some benefit of the doubt as it sounded like he may be going through a hard time and he had told me about some anxieties he was dealing with.

Me: I liked where things were going between us and then when I got back from vacation its like things backtracked. I know you weren’t looking for anything serious from the beginning but I felt we developed a strong connection. If you don’t think your open to anything becoming more serious it’s better if we just stay friends.

I sent that about half an hour ago. I’m sure you’re all thinking I’m silly and should have just ignored him. However, I needed closure. I probably would have been devouring 10 tubs of Ben and Jerry’s by now if it weren’t for all of your support.

Now onto a happier note.

As many of you know, I was unable to attend the local speed dating event put on by a University/College organization two weeks ago. What many of you don’t know is that when my friend and I first got invited to the Facebook event, we may have peeked over the ‘attending’ and ‘maybe’ lists. Don’t tell me you’ve never done that before! Anyway, I stumbled across this really cute guy’s profile. From what I could see, he appeared tall, had that prince charming quality to him and was also in his final year of University downtown. Mean time while I was putting all these bits of information together, my friend had found two guys of her liking and sent them a private message to see if they were interested in talking further! I couldn’t believe she did that. I wasn’t sure how stalker like it would appear. However, we could conclude they were ‘single and looking to mingle’ from being marked as ‘attending’ and I thought – good for her! What does she have to lose.

Somehow or another she convinced me to message this guy I stumbled upon. I said:

Hey. I know this is pretty random but my friend and I got this local speed dating event invitation on Facebook and we may have peeked at the list to see who was invited. Are you going?

A few days later and still no response. I figured it was unlikely I’d hear back so I wasn’t disappointed.

Which brings us to yesterday when I received a new private message alert on Facebook:

I just got this message now… yea I was there, crazy experience! So do you normally randomly message cute guys on Facebook? :P

I couldn’t believe he wrote back! From there we talked back and forth which went on for about 2 hours! I didn’t get to bed until 1:30 am. He told me he ended up going to the event. It was an ‘interesting’ experience but it was hard for him to take it seriously because it’s not the typical way he meets new people.

At the end of our conversation he gave me his phone number and I encouraged him to make the next move. He’s even suggested to go out for dinner with me which is so refreshing. I took a screenshot of him giving me virtual flowers. I mean, how original and cute is that! Well, we were both deliriously tired from a long day of school so I guess it made it seem that much more amazing.

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 11.31.08 PM

I’m excited to see where things go. No word from him today but hopefully he will make his move tomorrow. I’ll definitely keep all of you updated. Anyone reading this ever experience a similar situation? What’s the most random place you’ve introduced yourself to a guy/ made the first move?

6 thoughts on “French Fry Boy Update / Found my Facebook Prince Charming

  1. It’s hard when you are communicating with someone and you have that connection, then it seems like they are become distant yet still text from time to time. Experiencing that at the moment. People need to get it together. Good luck with your stalky, hope date pulls through soon.

    • Thanks! Agreed. Sorry to hear you are going through a similar situation. We don’t need or deserve all the mind games.

      Stalky has been distant already too! It was like an ‘online – one time thing’. Oh, I just don’t seem to be having any luck right now. Let’s cross our fingers for the best.

Leave a Reply

