I’m Just a Playful Girl at Heart

Yesterday I went on date #2 with the guy I blogged about in my most recent post ‘Is smoking weed a turn on or turn off?‘. He picked me up at 7pm and took me to a glow in the dark mini-putt somewhat in the area. It was incredibly foggy; one of the foggiest nights I could remember in a long time. I was a bit nervous having him drive but he reassured me beforehand he drove ‘like a grandmother’ and that I was in good hands. He completely held true to his word and the drive there was very comfortable. We blasted 102.1 and were singing along horribly to different rock songs.

Once arrived, we got V.I.P. treatment as his friend is the manager there. As it was a Tuesday, we were one of the only ones there (which I wasn’t complaining about). At first we were very serious about counting how many times it took to get the ball in the hole… no sexual innuendo intended. By the third round, things got more playful/flirtatious. As I was winning by a few points, I thought we could make a bet to make the game a bit more interesting. Of course PG rated as it was only the second date so we concluded that the loser had to either a) buy the winner a drink or b) be tickled for 30 seconds non-stop. As the rounds went on we were trying to distract one another by using our puts to create pretend obstacles. So although the last time I had been mini-putting was probably when I was 15/16, there was something really special about being there with him and kind of reliving that playful/giddiness feeling from my childhood. It was also pretty sexy watching him try to impress me (although failing… but in all fairness I had told him I’d been practicing my mini-put game in my basement for the last 21 years). We physically kept getting closer as the rounds went on. I picked up on his cologne and part of me just wanted to grab him out of my comfort zone and kiss him right there but the other part of me was like… maybe now is not the right time.

Afterwards as part of our V.I.P. treatment his friend gave us free credits for the basketball arcade games so we challenged each other to see who could score the most points. I swear we must have played at least 5 rounds of that and I’d say we were pretty on par with one another. For the last game we played on the same machine and I kept accidentally shocking him but I just took that as a sign there was definitely some ‘electric chemistry’ building between us. We got to redeem our tickets afterwards for a few small prizes including 2 temporary tattoos. He got a guitar and I got a butterfly.

By the time we left it was 9pm and we went back to his car and hung out there for a bit. Again, blasted the music and just talked about everything from our dysfunctional families to who could make a meaner Kraft Dinner. The whole time I kept thinking about wanting to kiss him but I held back and suggested we put on the tattoos. He had a water bottle in his car so he went first and placed the butterfly on my lower back. I may have gotten him to hold onto in a bit longer than you had to. Then I placed his guitar on his upper arm and to be honest it was such a sexy exchange and I highly recommend all of you try this on your next date. Afterwards we decided to go to a Tim Hortons to grab a hot drink but by the time we got there they were JUST closing. So back to the car we went. Luckily we got to steal their wifi so he reclined our chairs back and we watched silly post-wisdom teeth removal videos to playing this Unicorn Dash game on his Android that had a cheesy song called Always by Erasure in the background. I couldn’t stop laughing but it still kind of set the mood I guess.

I felt so comfortable but quite honestly it was so distracting having his one arm on my leg and I couldn’t concentrate much on the small android screen anymore. We tried finding each others ticklish spots but if was a bit awkward while in the car. So we just sat there staring at one another and he asked me what was on my mind. I told him he made me nervous. He said ‘how so?’ I just said he did… I couldn’t explain it. Then I told him I felt he was too far away. He said ‘you want me to come closer?’ I’m pretty sure at that time I knew it felt right to lean in and kiss him so I did and it totally felt right. I can officially check off the bucket list making out in a guys car. Last night really felt like I was 16 again and I really am hopeful that things work out with him. Although you never know.

What date nights have you experienced that made you feel like you were reliving your giddy/childlike days? What was that one song that played on the radio that was border line cheesy but you’ll never forget hearing that song while sharing a moment with someone special?

3 thoughts on “I’m Just a Playful Girl at Heart

  1. As a fan of cheesy love ballads, I can confidently say that most of those songs are held dear in at least one person’s heart because it reminds them of someone special. In fact, despite the comedic description of the Unicorn Dash moment, I kinda found myself tempted to play the video a second time. :)

Leave a Reply

